
Uruguay Signs $5.7 Billion Solaria Data-Centre and Solar Agreement

Uruguay has signed an agreement with Spanish solar developer Solaria for a proposed $5.7 billion technology campus combining as much as 500 megawatts of data-centre capacity with up to 350 megawatts of photovoltaic generation. The government describes it as the largest investment the country has received, but the announcement is a development agreement—not evidence that all capital has been financed, permitted or spent.
The Uruguayan Ministry of Industry, Energy and Mining said on October 14 that $5.5 billion is associated with the data centres and $200 million with solar generation. The campus would operate in a free-trade-zone regime across Canelones, San José and Florida, with a first phase of 200 MW of data-centre capacity and 350 MW of solar, followed by another 300 MW of data-centre capacity.
The scale is large enough to create national power-system, land, water and transmission questions. Agrilinkage calculates that 350 MW of solar nameplate capacity equals 70 percent of the proposed 500 MW data-centre load on a nameplate-to-nameplate basis. That comparison does not measure annual energy supply: solar plants do not produce at rated output around the clock, while data centres are designed for continuous operation.

The announced capital structure
The public figures allocate roughly 96.5 percent of the $5.7 billion total to data-centre infrastructure and 3.5 percent to photovoltaic generation. The announced $200 million solar budget corresponds to approximately $571,000 per megawatt of nameplate capacity. The $5.5 billion data-centre allocation corresponds to $11 million per megawatt of the proposed 500 MW IT-load capacity.
Those ratios are descriptive, not cost audits. The announcement does not state whether the data-centre figure includes servers and tenant equipment, land, transmission works, backup generation, cooling systems, financing costs or taxes. Nor does it specify whether the solar budget includes interconnection, storage or all land and grid-upgrade expenses.
A power gap hidden by nameplate figures
Comparing 350 MW of solar with 500 MW of data-centre capacity can create a misleading impression of near self-sufficiency. Photovoltaic output varies by daylight, season, weather and plant availability. A 500 MW campus operating continuously would require 12,000 megawatt-hours each day at full load. A 350 MW solar plant could produce 8,400 megawatt-hours only in the impossible case of maintaining full nameplate output for 24 hours.
The practical implication is that the campus would need the national grid, other generation, storage, demand management or a combination of those resources. The company reportedly plans to connect the campus to Uruguay’s 500 kV transmission network. Any claim that the solar installations will fully power the completed campus needs an hourly energy balance, not just a comparison of nameplate capacities.
The role of UTE and the proposed long-term PPA
Details attributed to Solaria indicate that state utility UTE would facilitate land for one or two photovoltaic plants and purchase their output under a power-purchase agreement lasting up to 40 years. The company would develop and operate the free zone, prepare land and infrastructure for major data-centre operators, and build the electrical connection. These company details reported on October 15 add structure to the plan but do not disclose the tariff, indexation, guarantees or allocation of curtailment and grid-upgrade risk.
A long-duration PPA can make a solar asset financeable by providing predictable revenue. It can also transfer material obligations to the buyer if volumes, prices or take-or-pay terms are not aligned with future system conditions. The commercial effect cannot be assessed without the contract economics and regulatory approvals.
Jobs and timetable are still projections
The government expects the first stage by 2029 and projects 3,100 construction jobs—2,400 related to data centres and 700 to solar—followed by 1,500 permanent jobs when the full project operates. These are planning estimates tied to successful construction. No start-of-works date, contractor awards, anchor data-centre customers or binding tenant commitments were disclosed in the government release.
Solaria already operates solar plants in Uruguay and sells electricity to UTE, giving it local experience. But moving from utility-scale solar to a 500 MW data-centre development introduces different financing, customer, cooling, cyber-security, fibre-connectivity and operating requirements. The proposed free-zone structure and access to renewable electricity are advantages, not substitutes for those capabilities.
Water and land must be part of the investment case
Large data centres can require substantial water or electricity for cooling depending on design. The public announcement does not specify the cooling technology, expected water consumption, source of supply, discharge arrangements or drought contingencies. Those questions are particularly important when facilities are distributed across three departments and when agricultural, household and industrial users share local resources.
The solar component also requires land and transmission access. The relevant test is not simply whether 350 MW can be installed, but whether generation, substations, transmission capacity and data-centre demand can be built in the same sequence without creating stranded assets or congestion.
What would make the project bankable
The next decisive evidence would include named data-centre customers, executed land and grid agreements, environmental permits, a published construction schedule, financing commitments, cooling and water plans, and transparent PPA terms. A final investment decision for each phase would distinguish a development pipeline from committed construction.
If those elements are secured, the project could materially expand Uruguay’s digital and power infrastructure, create a new class of electricity demand and anchor investment outside Montevideo. If they are delayed, the gap between the signed headline and actual deployed capital could be large. The correct reading today is therefore a major strategic agreement with substantial execution conditions.
Sources and methodology
This analysis uses the Uruguayan government’s October 14 announcement and reported details from Solaria’s company statement. Agrilinkage calculated the capital allocations per megawatt and the 70 percent nameplate ratio from the published figures. The calculation does not estimate solar capacity factor or annual energy output. No interviews or site inspections were conducted.






Comments